Quantcast

• Join Today, It's Simple and FREE!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

mark7170

1988 Suzuki LT 250 S quadrunner wont start.

Hey folks, brand newbie here.  I just bought a pair of near identical quads, the difference is that 1 is a 1988 and 1 is a 1989.  The 89 runs and the 88 does not.  Turn the key up 1 click,  no neutral or reverse lights.  2 clicks, still no neutral or reverse lights but the speedometer lights come on.  Switch to run and hit the start button and nothing.  Since I have 2 of the same and 1 runs I'm ok switching out parts.....but where do I start?  Any help is appreciated.  Thanks!

20180711_205739_1531397329355.jpg

• Like 1

Welcome to QUADCRAZY, I moved your topic into the Suzuki forum. I would swap the ignition switch from the 89 and see if it starts.

Hey Ajmboy, thanks for the suggestion.  Here is how I got this one started.  Going through the factory Suzuki manual (which I downloaded from Quadcrazy...THANK YOU GUYS!!!) I ran a diagnostic and found out the reverse switch was bad.  I swapped In a reverse switch and got back my neutral and reverse lights.  Plus, I now have ignition.  The neutral and reverse switches are tied in to each other on this bike so if 1 is bad, neither light works.  Both switches need to work to get push button ignition.

Will your quad pull start if a switch is bad?

Not sure, but I think the switch and the pull are independant systems.  

I tried pull starting one with no success

Having exactly the same problem. Need the factory manual to work out what's going on, but need 10 posts...

On 8/24/2018 at 6:37 PM, keppelk said: