Quantcast

• Join Today, It's Simple and FREE!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

Mustangiiman01

1998 Suzuki King Quad 280 Checking fluids

Since I am new to having a quad I am looking as to how you check the oil and transmission   I have a 1998 Suzuki king quad  4wd  engine is a 280. I have found a plug at the back of it that says 10 w 40 on it. And a site glass up under front of back wheel on right side.  And looks like there is a plug above it.  Now do I put  the oil in the back plug till it starts to run out  or somewhere else to check it  site glass seems a little far from it.  Or site glass maybe for transmission.  Thx for any help

You are correct, the sight glass is for engine oil. Should be hash marks on the case for min-max level. Or just fill it half way up the circle.

The fill port is in an awkward place because it is hard to poor oil into it from a quart bottle. I used to use a funnel attached to a long tube. Wipe the area off before removing the cap. Lots grime builds up here. The positioning of the fill port could have been designed better.

Go to the manuals section in the forum to download a shop manual for your machine.

That was what I was thinking since site glass was a little bit in front of where you put oil in wasn't sure it was for oil   Have tried to download in manual section but says I have to do 10 posts on here to be able to download it. So reason I am asking questions.   Thx for the help

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Forum Topics

• By StolenATV