Quantcast

• Do you own an ATV? Join our Forum!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

John Brucato

1988 Kawasaki Bayou 220 No Spark

Hi all new to the sight haven a problem with my 1988 kawasaki bayou 220 it ran then just died when out one day get gas but no spark any info will help I'm new to the ATV got it used and ran like a champ but don't know where to start when it comes to this

Edited by Ajmboy
Added issue to topic title

Welcome to QUADCRAZY! Does the starter crank fine, just no spark? Have you taken out the plug to test? How did you test for no spark?

Maybe do a little simple testing on the kill switch, ignition switch and  stator coil. Could be something  simple. First start at the kill switch by opening it up to make sure there is no water inside. Second wiggle the ignition key and see if that works, sometimes the contacts inside wear away a bit so wiggling may show spark hence a new ignition may be needed. If not lastly you have to do a test on the stator coil and ignition coils.  
All of the above testing needs to be done with a tester so of your somewhat familiar a tester it should be no problem.  

So when trying to start bike today I found a bunch of the wiring harness was burnt all together I called my local bike shop and just my luck they can't get me the wiring for it they can get everything else but that so my new problem is the wiring spent hrs up and down the net looking for a wire diagram with no luck so if some one can help me out with that this would be great