Quantcast

• Do you own an ATV? Join our Forum!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

bkpatt

2002 Suzuki Eiger Drive Belt

First, I'm a mechanical novice, so please bear with my ignorance, I'm trying.

02 Eiger LTA400 - 4wd Auto 400

Picked it up on the cheap due to assumed broken drive belt (motors starts, goes nowhere). Also has to be pull-started, seems starter is shot (or wiring is).

Pulled the cover off for the drive belt and definitely toast. Thing is he said he replaced not long ago, so suspicious of why it would break so quickly. He thought he had the wrong part, but looking at the part packaging, looks right to me (Dayco HP2027 - admittedly not highest quality belt, but still). I'm not an expert, but the primary and secondary do not seem to be lined up correctly? Any clues on this? Trying to upload pics to show...

Broken Belt

Alignment

Help please!

Brian

Edited by bkpatt
Pics not working

The poor alignment of the belt sheaves could be the reason for premature failure of the drive belt. As for the cause of the misallignment, I would guess that there is a spacer or something missing from behind the drive pulley. Who knows, maybe that is the way it is supposed to be, it doesn't seem right though. If I were you, I would purchase a repair manual, that is the best way to be sure you are doing things right.