Quantcast

• Join Today, It's Simple and FREE!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

thefuzzman

2000 Suzuki Quadmaster 500 - Running At Half Power

Hey guys, brand new to the post.

I have a 2000 Quadmaster 500. Long story short, my atv wouldn't start this spring due to gummed carb. Pulled it apart and cleaned everything, and replaced float needle. Put everything back together, cleaned the fuel tank and put new fuel in her. She started great and idled fabulous. I went to go for a rip and found I only had half power. Flat out throttle and I only had maybe 10-15 miles an hour. It wasn't choking or flooding or running rough. It just felt like half power. HELP!!

take the jets out and spray them out and/or run a thin piece of wire thru the holes and see if that helps. you can also try spraying into the carb with carb clean if it will let you rev decent ....

^^^ I agree, the carb needs a good cleaning. Make sure ALL the tiny ports are cleaned out. An overnight soaking of all the parts & carb in carb cleaner wouldn't hurt if you know you can remember where everything goes for re-assembly. Also, check to make sure the main needle is still seated in the barrell and the snap ring @ retainer are in place. I've seen the tiny snap ring /adjuster clips on the needle fall off for no apparent reason.

Thanks guys, I was already figuring about tearing the carb apart again. I thought it might be throttle linkage as well. It just feels like I only have half throttle.

That's easy to check, pull the air box and boot off so you can see down the throat of the carb, then cycle the throttle to full. If the barrell tops out in the throat it's not linkage or cable adjustment.