Quantcast

1994 Timberwolf Single Click, No Start

Hey there,

The short of it: I'm getting a single click when I hit the start, and nothing else.

The long: I'm a new owner to a 94 Timberwolf. I inherited it with the understanding that it needed a battery. It started without the battery when jumped, so I know it does work. I got the appropriate battery, charged it, and its reading 12.7V. Installed it, and all I'm getting is that click. Cleaned the carburetor today and reinstalled under someones advice, but still nothing. I'm gonna take the battery in to autozone to get it checked, and I was going to head to the spark plug next. But like I say, I'm new to this. Thanks for any and all advice.

Welcome to Quadcrazy, sounds like one of two things.   Starter relay or the starter. 

If you can, locate the starter relay.  I attached a pic of what it should look like.

It should be near the battery. The red wire + positive is coming off the battery and going to the relay. From the relay the wire goes to the starter. The relay has two big nuts on top holding the wires on it.  You can take a piece of wire and jump the two wires.  Make sure it’s a good size piece of wire and only do it for a few seconds. 

See if the starter cranks. If so then the relay is most likely bad.  

If not then you can take a tester and put one lead (red) on the wire at the starter. Take the second lead (black) and put it on the negative terminal (black) on the battery. Hit the start button. If you see 12v at the tester that means you have voltage at the starter and need a new starter.  

Hope this helps.  

494394D7-0B79-4BD8-AACF-60A92824000E.jpeg

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.