Quantcast

Suzuki 2003 Ltf 250

BOHUNTER

I have a 2003 Suzuki Ltf 250 and the plug fouls after a  time and has to be replaced .

Does anyone have any ideas on what to look for,  I've had it to a quad mechanic and he can't find the source of the problem and as I'm rural remote  it's a big effort to get it to a major city Suzuki dealer that probably won't be able to find the source either. 

Hi Russell, firstly thanks for responding. The mechanic just replaced the needle and seat and pilot jet, he's got 20 years of quad experience behind him and he seems to think it could be electrical, but as I'm no mechanic and pushing 70 years old I thought I'd submit my question to the forum in case anyone else has come across this problem...

BTW, it was actually the quad mechanic who found the problem after he took it for a good long run after the carby repair, I do lots of small stop start runs and can't really tell you how long it takes for the plug to foul up,just that it does.

The only way it could be electrical is if it were dropping spark or the spark plug is too low of a heat range. Restricted airflow, incorrect jets, or incorrect float height are much more common problems. I've also seen people run premium gas in engine without enough compression to fully burn the fuel and will build carbon on the valves and foul spark plugs. Yours would be an example of one that shouldn't run premium. Just my thoughts

Thanks again Russ,I will check these things you've mentioned, starting with the spark plug etc, I don't use premium gas, I usually just run E10 as its the cheapest, but I might try 91 and see if there's any difference, we also have 95 and then Premium  which I think is 98, but it's 20cents a litre dearer than E10,not all things like E10 so it could be the fuel.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.