Quantcast

RPMs go wild

cummins93

I have a 1994 Yamaha big bear 350 4x4, it sat for maybe a year, so i recently got it running and it sounds good but when im in neutral and i rev it a little and let off the rpms will stay the same or go higher and will eventually come back down slowly, the cable isnt sticking, and i have cleaned the carb as much as i can from the spray to the fuel additive to clean it, any advice will help thanks!

Mine does that a bit too, I have an 89, I just ordered a carb rebuild kit. Theres really not much you can accomplish by sprays and what not, it really needs to be taken apart and cleaned. If you have never done a carb rebuild before dont be intimidated, take your time, take pics if needed, its pretty easy.

Does your model carb have the single cable? Not sure when it switched as Im new to these, mine has two cables, one for the butterfly and one for the needle.

Possibly a vacuum leak, sucking in air form somewhere, thats one of the reasons Im rebuilding mine, I cant run mine w/o the choke part on. Or maybe your pilot jet improperly adjusted. If this quad is new to you, buy the book for it, Im sure it could use a valve adjustment as well. Thats my next plan when I find a way of getting my fuel tank off thats messed up.

Edited by MrSchaeferPants

awesome thanks guys! and i forgot to mention that when its idling at normal rpms it makes like a popping noise kind of like a back fire but you dont hear it come out of exhaust it backfires into the air filter box if that makes any sense at all,

Backfiring out of the carb is a typical symptom of a lean condition. Vacuum leak (sucking air from places OTHER than air filter), or your pilot screw is set wrong, or both. Or somethings changed and it needs re-jetting, or someones monkeyd in the carb and changed the jets.