Quantcast

• Do you own an ATV? Join our Forum!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

Ryan Hutton

2001 suzuki quadmaster wont move

Hey guys i am new to this site. i have a quadmaster 500 and last year my brother in law had it out and brought it back. When we went to put it away it wont move now any suggestions i have the belt cover off now. With it jacked up it seem to take gear when its not running.

Hey @Ryan Hutton welcome to Quadcrazy. 
So you have the belt housing off, is the belt tight or loose? 
Can you get all four wheels off of the ground and see if it will run and and go onto gear? 
Not sure on your atv but is it full time 4x4 or do you have the selector? 

Posted (edited)

I can push the belt down about 1.5-2 inches movement in it.

My bike does have a 4x4 selector switch.

I could get all 4 wheels in the air that is where i was heading next was to see if it will turn the wheels with no resistance on them.

Edited by Ryan Hutton
wanted to add for informastion

Ok definitely try getting all wheels off of the ground and see what happens as far as going into gear. Also see what happens when you go into 2x4 as well.   

Double check your brakes aren't locked up.

Last thing I would check are your differential drives.   Open the fill plug and feel around for any damaged gears. Don't move wheels while your fingers are feeling around in there. You may have blown a differential.   

Hey Frank Angerano i had a chance to get the belt housing off the bike and the nut come off the front pully so it wants the belt. Thank you for the help its back up and going now.

• Like 1