Quantcast

1991 suzuki king quad front left tire stuck

jessewr1981

I just got a 91 king quad. (I am very new to atvs) and know nothing about fixing them. While i was driving the other day at around 30km/hr the front left wheel locked up and was skidding. I tried putting it in neutral, that did nothing. The tire is still locked up. Tried putting it in 4x4 still locked up. Locked up in reverse as well. Only the front left is locked. 

Brakes? Berrings? I changed the differential fluid maybe a few days before. 

First thing is probably to undo the bleed nipple on the left front wheel. If fluid comes out and then the wheel turn, you have a problem in the brakes hydraulic system.

If releasing the hydraulic pressure makes no difference then it will probably be a wheel bearing, or one brake shoe has jammed itself on. The lining can come off the brake shoes and jamb up in there. You could try undoing the wheelnuts and taking the wheel off, and then try to get the brake drum off. If it's a bearing that's the problem, then the brake drum should wriggle around and come off fairly easily. Brake drums get a bit of wear where the shoes run on them, and it's sometimes necessary to manually release the self adjusting brakes to pull the drum off, but if taking the wheel off allows the drum to move in and out a little, and wobble around when you grip it top and bottom or front and rear, then it probably won't be the brakes causing the problem. If the brake drum seems locked solid with the wheel off, and can't be moved in any direction then it's probably a brake shoe jammed in there. To fix that you manually release the self adjusters on the brakes and pull the drum off.