Quantcast

91 king quad 300 front differential clunking noises

jessewr1981

When my king quad is in 4wd in any gear, there is a loud clunking coming from the front differential. Sounds like its coming right from the center of the differential. Is it toast? 4wd still engages but clunks at slow speeds especially. 

Front diff rebuild? Bearings? 

Im still learning so any help is very appreciated.

I just had a look at parts for the front diff.. and the prices aren't too bad..   $500 aussie for the two main gears. Over here, that would be about 1/24 of the cost of a new quad.

You never know how much it's going to cost,(or how little), till you pull it apart and inspect it.  It could be that a bearing has collapsed and it's letting the gears skip.. 

And what about the brakes ? Do the pistons slide in the cylinder ?

Your bike looks tidy enough. It's probably worth repairing. The diff comes out easily. You could take the diff assembly to a bike shop or find someone to do the work on it, a mechanic that's familiar with diff assembly would be best. Perhaps take it apart yourself first to check it's not got too many broken bits. If you strip it you lay everything out on a bench in the pattern it is in the bike, left parts to the left, right to right, front to front. The good thing is it's not like a diff in a car where if you get the adjustments wrong it will whine bad and wear out early. That front diff only has any load on it when you're using the 4x4. And most of the time, if you  just fitting new bearings, nothing else needs adjusting. I dare say that even a new set of gears(OEM ones) and bearings will be ok with all the old adjustment shims.