Quantcast

• Join Today, It's Simple and FREE!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

jaysun

2008 Kawasaki KFX450R - Dangling Wire

If you look at my previous posts, you'll see I'm completely new to riding. I don't know much of anything about riding or mechanical issues. I picked up a 2008 Kawasaki KFX 450R and just happened to notice a wire dangling about a week ago. There's no telling how long it's been this way. I noticed it just before I took it out to the motocross track and gambled on the fact the it wasn't important enough to matter. The quad ran fine but I have to figure out what this is for before I take it out again this weekend. I questioned a few friends before coming here and none of them could tell me, definitively, what it is. Below is a link to a short video, showing the wire. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, in advance.

Wire - YouTube

from the looks of it, it should be attached by a bolt somewhere. is it really close to the chaincase cover ? could be the neutral/safety switch. doubt if it's a brake light sensor, but might be too ???

I'm not sure what a chaincase cover is, but I assume that would be near the chain. This is nowhere near the chain. It's under the seat, towards the back of the engine. I don't mean any offense, but did you watch the video? It's pretty clear about the location of the wire.

On a side note, I initially thought it looked like something that might run the brake light. No dice. The brake light still works fine. With the brakes applied and as running lights with the headlights on.