Quantcast

• Join Today, It's Simple and FREE!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

morning all, looking for a little help...i have little and none experience with quads, am fairly handy with diy on my truck and car so im not totally engine illiterate lol...was given an old quad, had to tow start it to load it. took it home, checked the oil, plug, carb, air filter, battery...hhmm...drained and flushed fuel tank, new fuel, spark is good, tried to battery start, wont start, tow start and off i went. warmed the engine, half hr burn, came home, wont idle and died. started off battery with thumb throttle pumping. cool! wont idle died. damn. started again off battery with thumb pumping. back in business? shut it down. checked over machine, lookin good for a free new toy lol...next day wont start...hhmm..found fuel puddle on my garage floor. traced it, carb overflow. easy fix, dirty gas means dirty carb. removed carb painstakingly slow (first time on a 4 stroke carb) and cleaned outside. on to bench, started stripping, fairly simply carb, removed floats, needle valve, jet, inspected, washed thouroughly with brake clean and blew with compressed air to dry. put together. installed. tried to start. wont start. fuel puddle on floor :aargh: and that brings me here...pls help...where do i go from here?

needle and seat move freely, was what i originally thought, how do i check the float height properly pls? lol i cant even match up any identifing marks to tell me a model number on carb. stamped mikuni on 1 side, made in japan on other. 2 sets of numbers on flat parts on carb, but i cant match those numbers anywhere to order a carb kit