Quantcast

‘02 TRX450S 4x4 with “ticking noise”

Breita

Hi Fellow Forum Members, yes I’m a Newbie (so be kind… lol).  Within the past 2 years I’ve started riding, acquiring and repairing Honda ATVs.  I’m “self teaching” how to repair them from YouTube.  I currently have 4 (three Foreman = ‘02-‘04 TRX400FW & TRX450FM 4x4 and one ‘98 Recon TRX250 2X4).  My question:  Is it normal for Hondas “to tick”?  All three Foremans have ticking sound… valves have been adjusted (compression improved but ticking persists).  Any suggestions as to other causes or fixes?  Video/audio of ‘04 TRX400FW is attached.  Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

How did you measure the valve clearance ?  If the valves get a bit of wear, or the rocker, they can have a bit of a dish where one part touches another, and if you try adjusting them with a feller gauge you get the wrong clearance.

You could try adjusting them with a dial gauge, or, use your ear..  A valve clearance of two thou, you can feel but barely hear click when you snap it down against the valve, it will be a muffled little click.. four thou you can feel and hear as a crisp click most vehicles..  Rough setting but people have been using it for ever..  It's a good idea if you have one, to use the dial gauge to start, and then check with your fingers and ears what it's like for future reference.

Thought to add..

Leaking head gasket or small exhaust leaks at the head can make a noise that might be taken for a click..  Also the cam chains can hit the sleeve and make a noise, and the pistons can make a click/tap if they've been overheated and got a black anodised scale on the skirt.. The piston though is a lot noisier when cold, so sort of easy to spot.

If you suspect it is a valve clearance you could try either tightening or loosening them and seeing it it changes. You could also try to locate the noise by putting a screwdriver handle to your ear and the tip on different places on the motor using it as a stethoscope.