Quantcast

2000 Suzuki Quadmaster 500. Runs for 15 mins, stops - Oil in air filter

MMC

I have a Suzuki Quadmaster 500, that I got from a customer.  It has less than 400 miles on it.   I think I put most of the miles on it, so they sold it to me.    I used to drive it a few times a year,  treatinjg the gas or emptying it when I could.

I relocated and wanted to get it running again.   It will start with little trouble, then run for 15-20 minutes, then start to chug a bit, then finally stop.  Sometimes I can start it again, but it doesnt continue to run long after that.

when I first opened the oil filter when I moved, it was drenched in oil and fell apart.   I went and replaced it with a OEM foam filter.     I notice now, when it does stop, there is a small amount of oil on the bottom the air filter box, and it's clean oil.  I had recently changed the oil before I moved.     Each time I clean that up,   I go through the same process.  It will run, and I can drive it for a bit, but then it slows down and stops.  

Any suggestions?  I am not an ATV mechanic by far, but can work on most of the stuff I own.    I did have trouble finding a dealer who would work on it.   One local one, said "We dont' work on stuff that's over 20 years old"   It can't be because of parts,  I just laughed.

Two thoughts...and I'm not familiar with your quad AT ALL.

Check your fuel shutoff (petcock).  If it has the auto shutoff valve with a vacuum connection, start there.  The vacuum line or the diaphragm in the valve could have a leak.

Oil in the air filter housing could also indicate a vacuum issue.

Again, just guessing...I am confident the experts on here will get it sorted out...