Search the Community
Showing results for tags ' permit'.
Found 3 results
Located throughout the NE region of pa, is a large coal mining company known as reading anthracite, and their land, is your land. (as long as you buy a permit...) For more info, check out my trail listing... Reading Anthracite's VAST Acreage Coal Country by LostInPa QUADCRAZY ATV Community A few pics of my favorite play areas, sorry no trail pics yet Sand quarry Trevorton! Mountain sized coal hills and a secret mx track
Guest posted a topic in ATV Laws, Legal Issues, and PolicingPreviously we only needed to posess a valid "ORV tag" (as issued in your state) to be considered valid to ride in Oregon. As of the beginning of 2009 you are required to take an online test to earn your ATV safety Education Card. Even out of state riders - "all non-residents riding in Oregon are required to take the online ATV safety education course and carry an ATV Safety Education Card". FYI- The website to find more info and take the test.... (We've posted some important Frequently Asked Questions below as well.....) rideATVoregon | Welcome (CLICK HERE) rideATVoregon | Select an Account Type (CLICK HERE) From the Site: New safety laws are now in effect for operating quads and three-wheel ATVs (Class I ATVs) and off-road motorcycles (Class III ATVs) on lands open to public use. (See chart below for age-related timelines.) In order to make training as convenient as possible, the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department now offers this free safety and education program and certification online on this website. SAFETY TRAINING EXEMPTION: Safety training isn't mandatory for riders using an ATV or off-road motorcycle for farming, agriculture, forestry, nursery, Christmas tree growing operations or when riding on private land. Training Online in Three Easy Steps 1. Study and pass the online test on this website. A student can expect to spend between one and two hours for the entire process. 2. We’ll mail you a plastic, wallet-sized All-Terrain Vehicle Safety Education Card approximately 30 days after you pass the test (You can print a 30-day temporary education card immediately after you get a “pass” confirmation). 3. Carry the ATV safety education card with you whenever you operate a Class I or Class III ATV on lands open for public use. There is no minimum age to take the online course, though some children may have a difficult time with the course material. We strongly encourage parents to go through the course materials and test with their child/children. Parents who participate and who pass the test will receive their safety card as well. Even parents who choose not to take the test usually find the course both informative and enjoyable. If someone does not have access to the internet or for some other reason is physically unable to take the on-line course, please have them call toll free 877-7SAFELY for a hardship application. Click here for a list of frequently asked questions about the Oregon Online ATV Safety Education Course. rideATVoregon | Frequently Asked Questions Other Rider Requirements in Oregon SUPERVISION: All youth operators 15 and under must be supervised by an adult who: 1. Is at least 18 years old. 2. Holds a valid ATV Safety Education Card. 3. Is able to provide immediate assistance and direction to the youth. CHIN STRAPS: DOT Approved helmets, with chin straps fastened, are required for youth under age 18 for quads and dirt bikes. RIDER FIT: Class I operators (quads and 3-wheelers) 15 and under must now meet all the following minimum physical size requirements in relationship to the vehicle: 1. Brake Reach: With hands placed in the normal operating position and fingers straight out, the first joint (from the tip) of the middle finger will extend beyond the brake lever and clutch. 2. Leg Length: While sitting and with their feet on the pegs, the knee must be bent at least 45 degrees. 3. Grip Reach: While sitting upright on the quad with hands on the handle bars and not leaning forward, there must be a distinct angle between the upper arm and the forearm, and; 4. The rider must be able to turn the handle bars from lock to lock while maintaining grip on the handle bars and maintaining throttle and brake control. 5. Disabled riders are allowed to use prosthetic devices or modified or adaptive equipment to achieve rider fit. MINIMUM AGE: There is no minimum age for quad or 3-wheeled ATVs. Minimum age for off-road motorcycles is 7 years old. FAQ: Q: I am an adult. Do I still need to complete the online course and carry an ATV Safety Education Card when I ride? A: Probably not right away, but eventually you will need to carry the card (please see online training schedule below). If you are supervising a person 15 years of age or younger while they are riding an ATV or dirt bike, you will need to carry your ATV Safety Education Card. Remember that youngsters 15 years old and younger are required to have an adult with them who can provide immediate assistance and direction. If you are that adult, you will also need to have your ATV Safety Education Card with you beginning January 1, 2009. Year Mandatory Safety Training Age Jan. 1, 2009 Youth 15 and under and adults supervising youth Jan. 1, 2010 30 and under Jan. 1, 2011 40 and under Jan. 1, 2012 50 and under Jan. 1, 2013 60 and under Jan. 1, 2014 All riders must have an ATV safety education card Q: How much will the online ATV safety education course cost? A: There is no charge for the online safety course or the ATV Safety Education Card. There will be a small $8 fee if you lose your card and request a replacement card. Q: What are the steps required to complete the online ATV safety education course? 1. Sign up by clicking on the above button NEW? START HERE. 2. Study each chapter in the online ATV Safety Education Course. 3. Each chapter concludes with a quiz. The chapter quiz must be successfully completed with 100% accurate answers before progressing to the next chapter. All chapter quizzes must be complete prior to starting the final ATV safety education exam. 4. Successfully complete the final Oregon online ATV safety education exam. The exam includes 50 multiple choice questions. A passing score is 80% correct. 5. Print your temporary ATV Safety Education Card. You will receive your permanent card in the mail within 30 days. Q: I’m from another state or country and wish to ride an ATV or dirt bike in Oregon. Do I need to take the online ATV safety education course and carry an Oregon ATV Safety Education Card? A: Yes, all non-residents riding in Oregon are required to take the online ATV safety education course and carry an ATV Safety Education Card. They are exempt if they possess another state or country’s ATV Safety Education Card. Q: Can I take the online course for all my children at one time? A: A parent or supervising adult and up to four youth 15 years of age or younger may be certified by taking a single test. However, if a parent is assisting more than four youth, a separate test must be completed for any additional children 15 years old or younger. During initial account set up, a parent or supervising adult will be able to create a family account and add youth to their course account. Each additional adult and youth 16 and older will need to take the online course for themselves. Q: I've created a family account and wish to take the course for myself and two young children. In addition, another older child who is under my family account wants to take the test by himself. When can he begin taking the course? A: The family account process requires that an adult (18 years of age or older) complete the course and final exam for themselves and up to four youth before other family members, such as your third child, can begin their course work. Q: How long will it take to complete the online ATV safety education course? A: A student can expect to spend between one and two hours to for the entire online process Q: What happens if I log out of the system before completing the entire online course? A: You simply enter your user name and password and reenter the course where you left off. Q: Is there a time limit for any steps in the online study or testing process? A: No. However, you will be timed out of the website after 30 minutes of inactivity (e.g., no scrolling, key strokes, or mouse clicks). If this happens, you can simply log back into the system and reenter the course where you left off. (GOOD LUCK!! We'll be taking the course tomrorow!)