Quantcast

Advice needed: Repairing sunk 2018 Polaris Ranger 500

barracuda420

Hi, I'm new to ATV/UTV's and am looking for any advice that would help to repair my 2018 Ranger 500.  I got it from an insurance auction and have never owned one before.

It looks like it was sunk deep.  Found rocks and sand in the roof, milky oil in the air filter box, water in the fuse box, etc.

So far, I've cleaned the air box out, vacuumed most of the rocks and sand, checked the engine, trans and diff casings for cracks/leaks.

The battery would not charge while connected so I know there is some short somewhere...probably the wet fuse box.

I plan on drying out the fuse box and all connectors with a hairdryer tomorrow, check the fuses, remove/dry out the ECM and disassemble/clean the air intake.  Then install the battery and see if i can get it to key on and see what kind of lights I get.

Need to know what to expect with the engine/trans...

Thanks.

How much did you get it for? I think you are on the right track...

Remove spark plug and crank the engine to make sure no water is in the cylinder/hydro locked. Is it belt drive? There should be a drain to let water out. Check all the electrical, buy a new battery because its probably shorted. Change the oil and filter and plan to do it again after you get it running. You may have other electrical issues but you wont know until you try to get it running.

Bid was $3750.  $4548 with all the fees.  Hoping to see low mileage when I get the power going.  According to the title, it was originally titled 8/2018.  There is about $800 worth of accessories on it too.  Came with no key so I got a $10 chinese replacement just to get working on it.

Auction link: www.copart.com/lot/49761799