Quantcast

• Do you own an ATV? Join our Forum!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

Ed Morris

Suzuki Quadmaster Problem

I have a 2001 Quadmaster. Bought it from the original Owner. Its in Excellent condition for a 2001. The guy said there was a carb problem when I bought it. It seems like it is not getting fuel. I took off the tank, cleaned it, replaced the gas with fresh Gas, Installed a New Gas Valve. Then rebuilt the carb with a Carb Kit. Started it up and same damn thing, seems like its starving for gas. It will also backfire out the exhaust while trying to accelerate. Now the weird part. I started it the other day and it ran great. We went for a ride and it ran as if nothing was wrong with it. Started it the next day and back to running crappy again. I was like WTF !!! ... Anyone have any ideas of what the problem could be?

When you start it, are you using the choke? What's off is that you seem to addressed all the fuel issues and rebuilt the carb. Have you changed the plug and wire, checked the air box/filter as well or are they all good?

• Like 1

Backfiring is usually a sign of the exhaust valve not shutting properly. Time to take the head off and clean the built up carbon and also adjust the valve lash. I'm guessing its past 1000 miles on it and probably never has been done.

Also check your vacuum pipe and fuel feed pipe for splits, check the carb mounting rubber too ..... if they suck air in from rubber splits/leaks it causes the same symptoms.

Couple of general rules..

If they spit/backfire out the carby, it's usually too lean, so air leaks into the manifold, lean mixture, tight inlet valve etc.