Quantcast

Suzuki Quadmaster Problem

Ed Morris

I have a 2001 Quadmaster. Bought it from the original Owner. Its in Excellent condition for a 2001. The guy said there was a carb problem when I bought it. It seems like it is not getting fuel. I took off the tank, cleaned it, replaced the gas with fresh Gas, Installed a New Gas Valve. Then rebuilt the carb with a Carb Kit. Started it up and same damn thing, seems like its starving for gas. It will also backfire out the exhaust while trying to accelerate. Now the weird part. I started it the other day and it ran great. We went for a ride and it ran as if nothing was wrong with it. Started it the next day and back to running crappy again. I was like WTF !!! ... Anyone have any ideas of what the problem could be?

• 2 years later...
  • 2 months later...

Couple of general rules..

If they spit/backfire out the carby, it's usually too lean, so air leaks into the manifold, lean mixture, tight inlet valve etc.

If they backfire out the exhaust while going downhill or with the throttle off, it can be an air leak at the head to exhaust  connection or back between the front pipe and the muffler.

If they backfire out the exhaust as you are throttling on, it's likely to be caused by an intermittent lack of spark or incomplete combustion, which is letting unburnt gases into the exhaust. Then you need to check the ignition system.. and secondly the mixture.

Just general rules... but it's mostly right.. But hey.. for every rule, there's an exception !

Edited by Mech

• 2 weeks later...

I had a similar problem with my 1998 Suzuki King quad started right up idol perfect as soon as I gave it gas it was sputtering and backfire and no power rebuilt the carburetor and Thats right WTF. I threw in the towel gave it to this guy on Long Island and he found that my rectify it was bad. BAD RECTIFY !

Edited by Hunter19

• 7 months later...