Quantcast

All the parts are in boxes, need to build from the frame up

So I have a 2003 Polaris Predator 500 completely built and running.  And then I have a 2004 Polaris Predator 500 completely disassembled.  I've got the suspension, handle bars, steering and bottom of the motor on the brand new frame (previous frame was totaled, that's why it's disassembled).  Everything else is in boxes.

I've done all sorts of repairs on quads, ATVs, dirtbikes, snowmobiles, boats, cars...was a mechanic by profession in the 80's and wrenching my entire life.  Done top end rebuilds on multiple bikes over the years.  But I've never put a box of parts together like this.

It shouldn't be hard as I have a running bike to look at and I have the factory service manual as well as a print of the polaris parts manuals.  My question is in the best order to put this thing together.  I can't locate a set of instructions to follow.  I can figure it out without instructions but I find that instruction guides save me a lot of time.  I'd like to get this thing running by June and it will be an after work, weekends project.

Any pointers on the order of assembly...where to start...would be highly appreciated.

Sounds  like a fun project.   I like to start with a rolling frame, suspension in place and all steering components as well.  After that it’s all motor work.  Soup to nuts with the carburetor, exhaust and drive train in place.  Fill with required fluids and check for leaks. Don’t be afraid to use thread lock as you go.  It really helps to prevent bolts from coming loose. 

I like to clean up all the major tools wipe everything down good and its on to the wiring. After the wiring is complete I like to do a quick check to see there is spark and the starter is working with the push button etc.   

After that it’s all about the brakes and controls on the handle bars and foot pegs, shifters and brake pedal.