Quantcast

Carby adjusting...

Thought I'd share this because I see a lot of people wondering how to adjust their idle mixture. On some bikes it's really hard to get at the idle mixture screw and near impossible once the engine's hot. I'm a mechanic and need to adjust mixtures accurately and so I made this tool to do it. It's a piece of wood about 12mm square, with a screwdriver made out of a small bolt, and the drive belt, gear and tensioner out of an old printer. It cost nothing and only took about a half hour to make once I'd decided how to do it. Anyone that works on a suzuki quad needs one. The standard setting as recommended in the manual is only a starting point, and they always run nicer with a proper adjustment. The gear at the screwdriver end is pressed on there and is tight enough to turn mixture screws if they are not seized.

The adjustment should be done warm, and it's supposed to be the highest revs you can get with the least throttle opening, then you wind the mixture screw in until the revs just start to drop. That settings called "best lean", and it's what they run best at when hot. Sometimes though if the bikes doing a lot of stop starting I leave them a fraction richer than that.

20220202_095814.jpg

20220202_095804.jpg

• Like 1

• 1 month later...

You just poke the screwdriver end in from the right side of the bike on a suzuki, (after taking off a small bit of black plastic if it has one in the way), then raise/lever the screw driver up into the idle mixture screw's recess, turn the pulley on the outer end till the screwdriver engages, and then turn the outer gear to adjust the mixture. I'm always careful to keep the belt from touching the hot motor,(it's pretty close), but it has touched a few times and seems reasonable heat resistant.