Quantcast

K&N filter

Hey fellas, Great site you have here, im happy to be a part of it

im fairly new to the ATV culture and i have a question about a new filter i would like to get on my Grizzly.

Im lookin at gettin the K&N filter for my ride because the stock one, well.... sucks.

But i was told that a filter like that will get wet and allow moisture into my engine. i dont really get into much water as i live in the desert. but it does snow in the winter and i plan on tearin it up when the snow is here.

I trust the person who told me that the filter would get wet and soggy and fall apart?

arnt K&N filters cloth?

thanks for the info.

EDIT: if the K&N isnt the way to go, do any of you know another route? somthing better than the stock foam filter

Edited by HardcoreSlot

i have never heard that about k&n filters and i doubt that will ever happen just clean it wen it needs to be clean and oil it and you will not get any water or condensation on or around the filter or the housing.. i have however heard the way the filter is designed allows for dust to go through. that is true but if u buy a pre-filter which i have done it stops that issue from ever happening... personally i think k&n is a great filter and it did give me some noticeable power, if u r iffy about k&n still try looking into uni-filters they are great air filters and i heard all positive things from them to

Thanks for the info.

here is another question, i know the Grizzly 550 is built off the 700. Pretty much teh same bike just smalller engine. so are teh filters the same? i looked a the uni-filters you mentioned, they dont list one for the 550 but they list the 700 for 09'. seems to me that they would be interchangable but IDK.

thanks again!

Matt (HCS)