Quantcast

• Join Today, It's Simple and FREE!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

argmore

97 warrior clutch problem (always in gear)

I have a 97 warrior that sat in the garage for 3 years. I needed to replace cylinder and head gasket. I finally got it done and it started right up. Now my clutch doesn't work. It ALWAYS in gear. The clutch feels normal. I took the clutch cover off and compressed the pressure plate. Everything seems fine except it's always in gear. I'm new at this so please be kind.

Thank you

First I would recommend buying a manual. When you mean it is always in gear, I assume you mean that the clutch is not disengaging. Try taking the entire clutch assembly apart. Some of the plates and friction discs may be stuck together making it impossible for the clutch center to spin freely from the basket. You may need to replace the clutch plates and friction discs.

Like DD said...it's just an issue where it's not disengaging the gear. Now the clutch worked before your did the top end? Not sure what would cause it not to all of a sudden..did you do anything to the clutch, the cable, etc...during your repairs? You just took the cyclinder head off right?

I just did only top end. Cable is works fine. Everything seems to be in good working condition. I got this thing from a friend with good intentions. Sat around garage for 3 yrs. If I remember correctly, I had used the clutch to move the bike few times but maybe I'm wrong. Anyone know the size of the nut inside behind what I guess to be the pressure plate. I have to go buy the socket. I really appreciate everyones help/ comments. Thank you very much.