Quantcast

Maintenance Items on King Quad 300

jatho

I'm relatively new to the King Quad 300's, what sort of things should I be servicing/checking every year or so to ensure the bike continues to run smoothly? i.e when the bikes in for an oil change what sort of things should I check over at the same time. 

I would change oil and filter , check front and rear diff fluid, inspect bike undercarriage for any obvious problems, check for loose suspension bolts. Check the spark plug to see how it running light tan is optimal, black is flooding, and shiny black is oil burning. Check for carbon buildup on the plug, replace if necessary. Check valve adjustment. 

Make sure the suspension bush bolts are tight and keep an eye on them. Perhaps even pull them out and grease them straight away. They seize in the bushes and then wear in the frame mounts till they are a major problem to get out and repair.

The service manual will have recommendations about what to service and how often, but Gw's covered most of the common stuff.. oils, airfilter, adjust the clutch..

I'd recommend leaving the valve adjustment alone unless you suspect you need to adjust them, they are mongrols for self adjusting after being adjusted unless you get them just right, and just right is not what you get just using a feeler and doing them as per the book. Once they are right, they stay the same and go for years. If they aren't noisy, and the bikes got good compression with the pull start, I'd leave them be.