Quantcast

• Join Today, It's Simple and FREE!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

Jmpmstr91b

05 king quad won’t start after stator replacement

Hey guys.... I’m new to this atv mechanicing and replaced the stator and oil pump chain in my 05 king quad 700 and now the damn thing won’t start... all the timing marks appear to be right on... put a new woodruff key in when I pulled the old rotor (flywheel) off.... I don’t get why it won’t start.... any suggestions? Got plenty of fuel and good spark too

Did you mean timing chain ? (Oil pump chain) ?Is it possbsle that you are 180 deg out on the timing if so ?  Fuel and spark = a running engine. Timing could be the problem. Any backfire at all?  I would retrace my steps if I were you. And keep in mind that if you set the timing wrong the valves and piston can hit causing a considerable amount of damage to the engine. Like a bent valve and a dented/cracked piston etc.  

On 2/11/2018 at 6:21 PM, Jmpmstr91b said:

Hey guys.... I’m new to this atv mechanicing and replaced the stator and oil pump chain in my 05 king quad 700 and now the damn thing won’t start... all the timing marks appear to be right on... put a new woodruff key in when I pulled the old rotor (flywheel) off.... I don’t get why it won’t start.... any suggestions? Got plenty of fuel and good spark too

That's definitely a new word, but I love it! Sounds like timing maybe. That's fuel injected I believe.

Update.... I troubleshoot it down to the CKP sensor/ stator coil.... so I ordered a new one and hopefully that fixes the issue... fingers crossed