Quantcast

Metal shavings in crankcase of Baja Storm 125

The title pretty much explains it all. When using the starter I can hear it spinning but not engaging the engine. The wheels also do not engage with the wheels when the clutch is out. The motor has compression if that helps.

I am new to engine work and repair and I bought this quad with the idea of fixing it up (not knowing the full extent of the damage). The previous owner said it ran but sat for a year (I don’t believe that for a second after opening it up) and had bought a few new plugs and a starter motor, none of which fixed the issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I have attached a few pics of what I think could be wrong.

41262095-9FD5-4942-8CD7-A63D835725AC.jpeg

44F18F99-ACE1-4C49-82AF-70952154598D.jpeg

C1F5C678-A000-4AA3-A652-AB1AC7BD34F4.jpeg

506622A6-1212-4BDC-AC1E-B8C8C12052C9.jpeg

As long as it’s in neutral it should not have resistance with or without the clutch.  So if you put it in first gear or any gear for that matter the engine should resist with the clutch out and very little resistance with it pulled in.  So first I would go through all the gears one by one and see that it’s changing gears properly. After that I would look at the clutch actuator that expands the clutch. It’s the lever on the side of the engine where the clutch cable connects to.  There is a shaft back there and that rolls the clutch out. Based on the metal chunks it sounds like you maybe blew a gear.   

How does the lever feel when you pull it in? There should be a spring loaded type pressure.   If so and you can see the clutch expands on pulling the lever then it’s working. It’s most likely something internal. Maybe a shaft or gear and will involve pulling the flywheel and exposing as much as you can without splitting the engine.  If not then your going to have to yank the engine.