Quantcast

KLF300 Bayou 1994 EU with weak or no spark issues

Go to solution Solved by Mech,

Hi, I have an EU '94 KLF300 Bayou with ignition issues. I got it last summer and used it for about 20 hours, then one sunny day we used it for about an hour, parked it, and then it didn't want to start again. It has a *really* weak spark, I've only been able to see it once while testing. 

I'm just getting started on this, I'm going to go through all the weak/no spark trouble shootings from the manual. Since I've already invested like 10 hours digesting the manual and forum threads that I possibly can, I thought that it would be nice to create a thread like this in case I come up with a solution that can help someone else.

So far I've replaced the spark plug, I will replace the spark plug cap with a NGK VD05F (5kOhm resistance). I'm going to check the resistance in the pickup coil, stator coil and ignition coil next. I have tried two CDIs, right now I mounted the original CDI which actually gave the most output to the spark plug out of the two :)

A question for you, is it possible to make any assumptions about the CDI by measuring the resistance like in the manual? There's a "resistance table" that you can refer to when measuring between the different connections. I'm asking because I haven't yet seen anyone in the forums that has mentioned that they've measured the CDI resistances and made any conclusions from that.

I'll attach a photo of my Bayou :)

Pär, Sweden

bild.png

• Like 2

I haven't read the Kawasaki manual but in the Yamaha , it has you check for power and ground at the CDI, check for Coil wire continuity to CDI, check pickup coil resistance about 550, check anti rotation coil resistance, its low maybe .2, make sure both coils are making voltage, actually the yamaha manual does tell this I added it, it does not tell what the voltage should be, and if all these tests are passed replace the CDI.