Quantcast

Are you allowed to cross a road on your quad?

It depends on where you are.  In BC, Canada, you  have to be licensed and have  a minimum $200,000 Liability insurance to  cross main  roads and also  may  drive on the shoulder of secondary roads with a permit from the local  police department.  You  must also  have separate liability insurance to  ride on public land. There is no requirement for running or signal  lights here.

You need to  check with your  state/ provincial laws for the requirements for you and your  quad there .  The rules can be very different depending on the location.

• Like 1

Dave, thank you! :)

I will be riding it in BC Canada, possibly Alberta too.

I didn't realize the police was involved in providing permissions other than enforcing rules. I imagined that permission and regulation would come from the registration office! That's how it's done in Alberta anyway. But I'm new to the quading... so I have a lot to learn :)

thank you :)

In BC, road permits are issued free from  the local detachment office for the area you want to  drive in .  There are 2 insurances required to  ride here .. The  ICBC  insurance is for crossing main  roads at intersections and driving on secondary road shoulders.  The other is liability  insurance  for  riding on forest service roads and  other Crown land .. That insurance is normally  cheaper through private companies. I  have no  idea on the requirements in Alberta.

Here in the southern states of the US all it takes is a farm use tag ;).

Not really though it always depends on local regulations and the kind of area your in means a lot. If your nearest neighbor is 7 miles away and you only see a few cars in a day you might as well just drive it on the road