Quantcast

new member needs Artic Cat Help!!!!

HAve 2005 Cat 500. It has been sitting for about 10 weeks, and will not statrt. Cranks good has new battery, but will not fire up. I got all old gas out and put fresh in, but no good. If it has a choke or primer i can not find it. It only has 270 miles on it, so not a lot of expierience with it. Always has some trouble starting cold, but catches eventually, noit this time. Also, small protrusion under carb lesks fuel when running, just idle i think, but not positive. It looks like there should be a hose coming off of it, but dont think so. I cant figure it out. Nearest dealer is 33 miles away. Any help sure would appreciate it!!!!!!

Im not a mechanic, but I am pretty handy and have lots of tools. Is this somthing that someone that is mechanically inclined can do on there own? Are there any reference guides out there to help with instructions on how to? How is the carb mounted?. Thanks to DirtDemon for the info u gave me so far?

Agreed. It does need to be cleaned because you have some dirt under the needle. These carbs are prone to this problem. You'll need some carb cleaner and compressed air. You can do it yourself if you pay very close attention to where the parts go when you put it back together, otherwise I'd recommend taking it to a shop. Also, install an inline filter before you run it again. I had this problem with my 400 before I installed the filter, now it's been years since it's leaked out the overflow.

Also, you'll see a little lever on the side of the carb with a hole in it. That's your primer. If it sits for long periods of time, especially in cold weather give it 3 or 4 pumps before you try to start it.