Quantcast

• Join Today, It's Simple and FREE!

As a member, you can post in our forums, upload your photos and videos, use and contribute to our downloads, create your own member page, add your ATV events, and even start your own ATV club to host your own club forum and gallery.  Registration is fast and you can even login with social network accounts to sync your profiles and content.

tigerorange

1998 Artic Cat 454 4X4 Starting Problems

I'm a newbie with ATV's and was given a '98 454 4X4 Artic Cat by my brother. It has been sitting for about a year without being run so I changed the oil, charged the battery and replaced the spark plug but I can't seem to get it to start. It only has 689 hr

Where should I start the trouble shooting? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Congrats on the atv.

First, with key on , is there power? What happens when you hit the start button? I know you charged the battery, but it still could be dead. Did you try the pull start? Is the choke working properly and on when starting?

There is power. The lights come on and the green light highlights the N (neutral). I have tried the pull start with no luck. When I hit the start button I can hear the motor turning over similar to when i pull start. Is the chock the right beside the start button? It seems to be worn and I'm not sure if full choke is all the way down or up. How would I go about check the choke? Thanks for your help

Make sure the fuel switch is not off or on reserve. Also some quads you need to hold the handbrake when starting it or put it in park. when you crank it, does it seem the starter is moving slow? You may want to add a booster to the battery if so. Maybe the battery is week and not strong enough to fully crank it over.

Another thing, since it was sitting...your float in your carb could be stuck. You could spray some fuel into the air intake to see if it is a fuel starvation issue.